We provide fun, challenge and adventure to over 1400 young people in North Lancashire – #SkillsForLife
We provide fun, challenge and adventure to over 1400 young people in North Lancashire – #SkillsForLife

Annual Review & AGM

The 45th Annual General Meeting of the Lonsdale District Scout Council took place on 17 September 2020 online, owing to the continuing Covid-19 restrictions. 

The District President Suzie Reynolds DL welcomed everyone to the virtual meeting including a number of invited guests. These included the President Elect Kath Bromilow MBE, the County Chair Carl Hankinson DL and the County Commissioner Craig Dewar-Willox.

Apologising for her unavoidable absence the District Scouting Ambassador Cat Smith MP (Lancaster & Fleetwood) sent a message of support and encouragement.

The formal business included receiving the Annual Report and Accounts, which were presented by Mandy Sweet (District Commissioner) and Steve Landles (District Treasurer) respectively. (copies of these are available on this website).

The following appointments were made:

District President – Mrs. Kath Bromilow MBE
District Vice President – Mrs. Suzie Reynolds DL
District Chair – Dr. Tony Andrews
District Secretary – Mr. Alan Hague BEM
District Treasurer – Mr. Steve Landles
District Finance Officer – Mr. Steve Clarke

Appointments were also made of members to serve on the District Executive Committee and to represent Lonsdale on the West Lancashire County Scout Council.

Following an inspirational address by the County Commissioner Mr. Craig Dewar-Willox a number of presentations of certificates and awards were announced by the District Commissioner –

Good Service Awards:
Bar to the Silver Acorn – Howard Greenwood
Chief Scout’s Commendation – Jamie Carbert

District Nights Away Shield:
Warton Scout Group

The Peter Ellwood Memorial Award (for Contributions to Developing Scouting):
3rd Hornby & Wray

The Peter Hewitt Award (for the Young Person of the Year):
Josh Marshall Silverhelme ESU