We provide fun, challenge and adventure to over 1400 young people in North Lancashire – #SkillsForLife
We provide fun, challenge and adventure to over 1400 young people in North Lancashire – #SkillsForLife

Scouts and Cubs. expand ‘under their own steam’

Morecambe Guardian 02 December 1960:

Scouts and Cubs expand ‘under their own steam’

COUN. C. MAYOR, opening the sale of work, organised by the 16th Morecambe and Heysham Scouts and Cubs, on Saturday at the Church of the Ascension, Torrisholme, urged the people packed into the hall to “kill two birds with one stone,” by obtaining Christmas presents from the stalls and sponsoring funds for the new Scout hut, behind the church, at the same time.

He sketched a brief history of the Scouts and Cubs in the parish from their origin four years ago, when there were 30 members, to the present, thriving and growing body of 100. The church had offered them a loan towards the fitting out of their new hut, he said, but they had refused, preferring to raise the funds themselves, thus keeping free from debt and having the pleasure of knowing that they had  expanded “under their own steam.”

Chairman for the afternoon was the vicar of the church, the Rev. C. G. Yates. Also present were the District Commissioner, Mr. M. Melling, and the District Arkali (sic), Miss M. Grey.

A vote of thanks was proposed to Coun. Mayor by Anthony Shaw and he was seconded by Anthony Radcliffe. Mr Melling, the District Commissioner, gave a short speech, commenting on the growth and vigour of the Scouts and Cubs. A vote of thanks was proposed by David Beardsworth.

The Cub Mistress, Mrs Brooks, was called upon to give a speech, after she had been presented with a bouquet by Mrs. A. Green. But was unable to say much as she had lost her voice, she said. Miss P. Cooper, one of her assistants, deputised for her. 

Stall holders and helpers were: Mrs. A. Green, Mrs. E. Turner, Mrs. C. Haworth, Mrs. Wilson, Mrs. Roebuck, Mrs. Ayrey, Miss B. Ayrey, Mrs. E. Wood, Mrs. Foster, Mrs. A. Shaw, Mrs. E. Buckley, Mrs. C. Mayor, Mrs. Brooks, Mrs. R. Lusted, Miss Freear, Mrs. E. Derham, Mrs. I. Baldri, Mr. Ainsworth, Mrs. Beardsworth, Mrs. Gregory, Mrs. Heyhurst, Mrs. E. Evans, Mrs. Sharrack, Mrs. K. Derham, Mrs Birkinhill, Mrs. Moran, Mrs. Lory, Mrs. Waterhouse.