We provide fun, challenge and adventure to over 1400 young people in North Lancashire – #SkillsForLife
We provide fun, challenge and adventure to over 1400 young people in North Lancashire – #SkillsForLife

Scout Resignation and Appointments

Lancaster Guardian 25 June 1948:-

THREE local officials of the Lancaster and District Boy Scouts Association – Messrs. J. Dodds Drummond, Kenneth R. Stanley, and R.E. Wright – received promotion at the County Scout Council at Preston on Saturday, when Sir Matthew Fell presided in the absence through illness of the Earl of Derby, County President.

County Alderman T. W. Helme, J.P. announced his resignation from the position of County Commissioner for North West Lancashire, and appointed Mr. J. Dodds Drummond, District Commissioner as his successor.  Mr. Helme became Commissioner for the area from Barrow to Lytham-St. Annes on the resignation of Sir Matthew Fell in 1938.  He joined the Executive Committee on its inception in 1911 following the foundation of scouting in Lancaster the previous year.  Appointed chairman in 1922, he became ADC 2 years later, and succeeded the late Alderman W. Briggs as District Commissioner in 1928.  He was awarded the Medal of Merit in 1930 and the Silver Wolf, the highest Scouting honour, in the 1940 St.George’s Day honours.

Whilst travelling extensively in the interest of the movement he has led Moot and Jamboree contingents to Hungary, Sweden, Holland and Scotland.

Mr. J. Dodds Drummond’s first act after receiving his warrant as County Commissioner For North West Lancs was to appoint Alderman Helme as Honorary County Commissioner, and Mr. R. E. Wright, as the District Commissioner for South Lonsdale.  Mr. Wright was Assistant District Commissioner for Lancaster.

County Secretary, Mr. David Fitchie resigned and Mr. Kenneth R. Stanley, Secretary of the Lancaster Boy Scouts Association, was elected to succeed him.